



မင်္ကြန်င်္ဂြန်င်

PART V EXTRAORDINARY

No.48

AMARAVATI, TUESDAY, DECEMBER 19, 2017

G.840

STATUTORY NOTIFICATIONS OF THE ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA AND OTHER ELECTION NOTIFICATIONS

--x--

NOTIFICATIONS BY GOVERNMENT GENERAL ADMINISTRATION (ELECTIONS) DEPARTMENT

--X--

BYE-ELECTION TO THE ANDHRA PRADESH LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL FROM KURNOOL LOCAL AUTHORITIES' CONSTITUENCY.

(Memo.No.5844/Elecs.F/2017-17, Office of the Chief Electoral Officer, Andhra Pradesh, Dated:15.12.2017)

The following notification of the Election Commission of India, New Delhi, No.100/AP-LC/9/2017, dated 19th December, 2017 / Agrahayana 28, 1939 (Saka) is published:-

NOTIFICATION

No.100/AP-LC/9/2017:- WHEREAS, the seat of Sri Silpa Chakrapani Reddy in the Legislative Council of the State of Andhra Pradesh, elected from Kurnool Local Authorities' Constituency, has become vacant on 14th August, 2017, by the reason of his resignation, before the expiration of his term of office which was upto and including the 1st May, 2023; and

WHEREAS, a bye-election is to be held for the purpose of filling the vacancy so caused;

NOW, THEREFORE, in pursuance of sections 151, 30 and 56 of the Representation of the People Act, 1951 (43 of 1951), the Election Commission of India hereby –

(A) calls upon the said Kurnool Local Authorities' Constituency, in the State of Andhra Pradesh, to elect, before 19th January, 2018 (Friday) and in accordance with the provisions of the said Act and of the rules and orders made thereunder, a person for the purpose of filling the said vacancy in the Legislative Council of the State;

- (B) appoints, with respect to the said election,
 - (a) the 26th December, 2017 (Tuesday), as the last date for making nominations;
 - (b) the 27th December, 2017 (Wednesday), as the date for the scrutiny of nominations;
 - (c) the 29th December, 2017 (Friday), as the last date for the withdrawal of candidatures;
 - (d) the 12th January, 2018 (Friday), as the date on which a poll shall, if necessary, be taken; and
 - (e) the 19th January, 2018 (Friday), as the date before which the election shall be completed; and
- (C) fixes the hours from 8.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M., as the hours during which the poll shall, if necessary, be taken on the date specified above for the election.

By order,

VARINDER KUMAR,

Principal Secretary to the Election Commission of India.

ANOOP SINGH,

Chief Electoral Officer (FAC), Andhra Pradesh.