

# भारत निर्वाचन आयोग Election Commission of India

### निर्वाचन सदन NIRVACHAN SADAN अशोक रोड, नई दिल्ली-110001 ASHOKA ROAD, NEW DELHI-110001

No. ECI/PN/01/2024

## Dated: 04<sup>th</sup> January, 2024

### PRESS NOTE

# Sub:- Bye Elections to the Legislative Councils of Telangana and Uttar Pradesh by the members of respective Legislative Assembly (MLAs) – reg.

There are two casual vacancies in the Telangana Legislative Council and one casual vacancy in Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council to be filled by the members of respective Legislative Assembly. The details of the vacancies are as follows:

Name of State	Name of Member	Nature of election	Cause of vacancy	Term up to
Telangana	Sri Kadiyam Srihari	By MLAs	Resignation on 09 <sup>th</sup> December, 2023	30 <sup>th</sup> November, 2027
	Sri Padi Kowshik Reddy	By MLAs	Resignation on 09 <sup>th</sup> December, 2023	30 <sup>th</sup> November, 2027
Uttar Pradesh	Dr. Dinesh Sharma	By MLAs	Resignation on 13 <sup>th</sup> September, 2023	30 <sup>th</sup> January, 2027

2. The Commission has decided to hold three separate bye-elections to the Legislative Councils of Telangana (02 seats) and Uttar Pradesh (01 seat) by the members of respective Legislative Assembly to fill the above-mentioned vacancies as per the following common schedule: -

S. No.	Events	Dates	
1.	Issue of Notification	11 <sup>th</sup> January, 2024 (Thursday)	
2.	Last Date of making nominations	18th January, 2024 (Thursday)	
3.	Scrutiny of nominations	19th January, 2024 (Friday)	
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	22 <sup>nd</sup> January, 2024 (Monday)	
5.	Date of Poll	29th January, 2024 (Monday)	
6.	Hours of Poll	09:00 am- 04:00 pm	
7.	Counting of Votes	29 <sup>th</sup> January, 2024 (Monday) at 05:00 pm	
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	01st February, 2024 (Thursday)	

3. Broad Guidelines of Covid-19 issued by ECI as contained in para 32 of Press Note, dated 09<sup>th</sup> October, 2023, available at link <u>General Election to Legislative Assemblies of Chhattisgarh.</u> <u>Madhya Pradesh, Mizoram, Rajasthan and Telangana, 2023 - Press Releases - Election Commission of India (eci.gov.in)</u> to be followed, wherever applicable, during entire election process by all persons.

(PRAFULL AWASTHI) UNDER SECRETARY