You are here: Home > Z-Old-Archived-Posts
All posts from

Council of States Biennial Election : April 20th 2015 Kerala

Organisation : Election Commission of India
Facility : Council of States Biennial Election
State : Kerala

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

Updated Notification :–PN-27_26032015.pdf
Home Page :

Subject: Biennial Election to the Council of States from Kerala.
The Commission had issued Press Note No. ECl/PN/25/2015 dated 20th March, 2015, announcing biennial election to the Council of States from Kerala. The date of poll was fixed on 16th April, 2015. However, subsequently a request from a National political party was received for change of date of poll, as the MLAs of that party who are electors in this biennial election will be very busy with their party programme from 14th to 19th April, 2015, outside Kerala.

Having considered this request the Commission has decided to re-schedule the date of poll for the said election from 16th April, 2015 to 20th April, 2015. Other stages of the election will remain unchanged and the Presidential notification calling the election will be issued on 30th March, 2015, as scheduled earlier

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi – 110 001
N0. ECl/PN/25/2015
Dated: 20th March,2015

Subject: Biennial Election to the Council of States from Kerala.
The term of office of three (3) members of the Council of States elected from the State of Kerala is to be expire on 21.04.2015.
S. No. | Name of sitting members | Date of retirement :
1. Shri M.P. Achuthan 21.04.2015
2. Shri P. Rajeeve 21.04.2015
3. Shri Vayalar Ravi 21.04.2015

A biennial election has to be held for filling up the vacancies so arising.

2. The Election Commission has decided to hold the biennial election to the Council of States from the State of Kerala, in accordance with the following schedule
Sl No | Particulars | Date :
1. Issue ofNotification 30.03.2015 (Monday)
2. Last date of making nominations 06.04.2015 (Monday)
3. Scrutiny of nominations 07.04.2015 (Tuesday)
4. Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 09.04.2015 (Thursday)
5. Date of poll, ifnecessary 16.04.2015 (Thursday)
6. Hours of Poll 09.00 AM to 04.00 PM
7. Counting ofVotes 16.04.2015 (Thursday)at 5.00 PM
8. Date before which election shall be 18.042015 (Saturday) completed

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy