You are here: Home > Central Government
All posts from : Bye Election to UP, Maharashtra & Karnataka Legislative Council Graduates’ & Teachers’ Constituencies February 3rd 2017

Organisation : Election Commission of India
Facility : Graduates’ & Teachers’ Constituencies Bye Election

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

Notification :
Website :

Graduates’ & Teachers’ Constituencies :

The term of office of 10 members of Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra Legislative Council from Graduates’ and Teachers’ constituencies has expired on 16th November, 2016 and 5th December, 2016 respectively as per following detail

Related : ECI Complaint Redressal Mechanism Application :

Uttar Pradesh :
Name of the Members | Name of Constituency | Date of retirement :
Devendra Pratap Singh Gorakhpur-Faizabad Division Graduates constituency 16th November, 2016
Arun Pathak Kanpur Graduates’ Constituency 16th November, 2016
Dr. Jai Pal Singh Vyast Bareilly-Moradabad Division Graduates’ Constituency 16th November, 2016
Suresh Kumar Tripathi Allahabad-Jhansi Divison Teachers’ Constituency 16th November, 2016
Rajbahadur Singh Chandel Kanpur Division Teachers’ Constituency 16th November, 2016

Maharashtra :
Name of Retiring Members | Name of the Constituencies | Date of Retirement Kale :
Kale Vikram Wasantrao Aurangabad Division Teachers’ 5th December, 2016
Ganar Nago Pundlik Nagpur Division Teachers’ 5th December, 2016
Mote Ramnath Dada Konkan Division Teachers’ 5th December, 2016
Patil Ranjit Vitthalirao Amravati Division Graduates’ 5th December, 2016
Tambe Sudhir Bhaskar Nashik Division Graduates’ 5th December, 2016

2. Besides, a casual vacancy was occurred in Karnataka Legislative Council from Karnataka South-East Teachers’ Constituency due to the resignation of Shri Y. A. Narayana Swamy on 17th February, 2016. The date of retirement is up to and including 21st June, 2018

3. Biennial elections from Uttar Pradesh & Maharashtra and a bye election from Karnataka Legislative Council from above mentioned Constituencies could not be conducted earlier within the prescribed time period due to the Order dated 12th January, 2016 of Hon’ble Supreme Court of India directing for preparation of electoral rolls of all Graduates’ and Teachers’ Constituencies afresh before elections.

As per the schedule of de-novo preparation, the final publication of electoral rolls in these three states is to be done on 7th January, 2017.
4. Now, the Commission has decided to hold Biennial Election to Uttar Pradesh and Maharashtra and a bye-election to the Karnataka Legislative Council from said Graduates’ and Teachers’ Constituencies, in accordance with the following program
Sl. No. | Subject of Program | Days and Dates :
1. Issue of Notifications 10th January, 2017 (Tuesday)
2 Last date of making nominations 17th January, 2017 (Tuesday)
3. Scrutiny of nominations 18th January, 2017 (Wednesday)
4 Last date for withdrawal of candidatures 20th January, 2017 (Friday)
5. Date of poll 3rd February, 2017 (Friday)
6. Hours of poll 8.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M
7. Counting of Votes 6th February, 2017 (Monday)
8. Date before which election shall be completed 9th February, 2017 (Thursday)

5. The Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the above Constituencies are comprised in.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy