You are here: Home > Bye Election
All posts from

Telangana Legislative Council Biennial Election : June 1st 2015

Organisation : Chief Electoral Officer Telangana
State : Telangana
Council : Telangana Legislative Council

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

Notification :
Home Page :

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi 110001
No ECIPN30/2015 Dated: 7th May, 2015
Subject :
Biennial Election to elect 6 Members to the Telangana Legislative Council by the members of the Legislative Assembly.

The term of office of 7 members of the Telangana Legislative Council, elected by the members of the Legislative Assembly has expired on their retirement on 29th March, 2015.
Details of the vacancies are given as under:
State – Telangana
Sl. No. | Name ofthe Member | Date of Retirement :
1 K. R. Amos 29.03.2015
2 Nagapuri Rajalingam 29.03.2015
3 Peer Shabbir Ahmed 29.03.2015
4 Balasani Laxminarayana 29.03.2015
5 Bodakunti Venkateswarlu 29.03.2015
6 K. Yadave Reddy 29.03.2015
7 Srinivas D. 29.03.2015

Reason for Bye Election :
** As per sub-section (1) Section 23 of the Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014, the number of seats in the Telangana Legislative Council to be filled through election by the Members of the Legislative Assembly has been being fixed as 14, but under Fourth Schedule of the said Act, the number of Members in the Telangana Legislative Council elected by the Members of Legislative Assembly have been allocated is 15, ie. one extra.

** In terms of Section 108 of the said Act, this inconsistency was referred to the Central Government (Ministry of Home Affairs) for removing the said inconsistency.

** The Ministry of Home Affairs has advised that on the retirement of above mentioned seven members, one seat vacated by Sh. K. R. Amos shall cease to exist and shall not be filled up in accordance with sub-clause (B) of clause (I) of sub-section (2) of Section 23 of Andhra Pradesh Reorganization Act, 2014 and rest of six seats shall be filled by election by Members of Legislative Assembly.

** That is to say, election may be held to fill six (6) vacancies instead of the aforesaid seven (7) vacancies.

Accordingly, the Commission has decided to hold Biennial Election to the Telangana Legislative Council by the Members of Legislative Assembly to fill up the above mentioned 6 vacancies so arisen, in accordance with the following programme

Sl no | Subject of Programme | Dates and Days :
1. Issue of Notification 14th May, 2015 (Thursday)
2. last Date of making nominations 21st May, 2015 (Thursday)
3. Scrutiny of nominations 22 May 2015 (Friday)
4. Last date for withdrawal Of candidatures 25th May, 2015 (Monday)
5. Date of Poll – 1st June, 2015 (Monday)
6. Hours of Poll 9.00 AM to 4.00 P.M.
7. Counting of Votes 1st June, 2015 (Monday) at 5.00 PM.
8. Date before which election shall be completed 3rd June, 2015 (Wednesday)

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy