You are here: Home > Bye Election
All posts from Bye Election to Arunachal Pradesh, Uttar Pradesh & West Bengal On December 21st 2017

Organisation : Election Commission of India
Facility : State Legislative Assembly Bye-Election 2017
Applicable State : Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal
Home Page :
Notification :

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

State Legislative Assembly Bye-Election :

Date of Poll : 21.12.2017 (THU)
Date of Counting : 24.12.2017 (SUN)

Related : ECI Presidential Election 2017 Result :

Schedule for bye-elections to fill casual vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu, Uttar Pradesh and West Bengal – Regarding.

There are following clear vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of various States, which need to be filled up :

Sl. No. State Number & Name of Assembly Constituency
1 Arunachal Pradesh 12 – Pakke-Kasang (ST)
28 – Likabali (ST)
2 Tamil Nadu 11 – Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar
3 Uttar Pradesh 207-Sikandra
4 West Bengal 226-Sabang

After taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc., the Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill these vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under

Poll Events Schedule
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification 27.11.2017 (MON)
Last Date of Nominations 04.12.2017 (MON)
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations 05.12.2017 (TUE)
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures 07.12.2017 (THU)
Date of Poll 21.12.2017 (THU)
Date of Counting 24.12.2017 (SUN)
Date before which election shall be completed 26.12.2017 (TUE)

Electoral Roll :
The Electoral Rolls of the Assembly Constituencies 12-Pakke Kasang (ST) and 28-Likabali (ST) of Arunachal Pradesh, 11-Dr. Radhakrishnan Nagar of Tamil Nadu, 207-Sikandra of Uttar Pradesh and 226-Sabang of West Bengal, revised with reference to 01.01.2017 as the qualifying date will be used for bye-election.

Electronic Voting Machine : (EVMs)
The Commission has decided to use EVMs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

Identification of Voters :
In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter.

However, in order to ensure that no voter is deprived of his/her franchise, if his/her name figures in the Electoral Rolls, separate instructions will be issued to allow additional documents for identification of voters at the time of poll in the said bye-elections.

Model of Conduct :
The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Assembly Constituency going for bye-election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’s instruction No. 437/6/INST/2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017 (available on the Commission’s website).

The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the State concerned.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy