You are here: Home > Jammu & Kashmir
All posts from Download Electoral Rolls : CEO Jammu & Kashmir

Organisation : Chief Electoral Officer Jammu & Kashmir
Facility : Download Electoral Rolls

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

Download Electoral Rolls :
Home Page :

Related : CEO Jammu & Kashmir Apply Online Voter ID Card Form 6 :

Download Electoral Rolls :

Select Report Type :
** AC Wise Report
** PS Wise Report

Hindi Search is available for Jammu, Samba, Kathua,Udhampur and Reasi Districts

Select Language :
** English
** Hindi
** Urdu

Click Show Button

PS Wise Report :
** Select District
** Select AC
** Select PS
** Click Get Report Button

You will get the file details.

Q 1. There are 543 Parliamentary constituencies in India each electing one member. Who demarcates the boundaries of these constituencies?
Ans.Delimitation Commission
Under Article 82 of the Constitution, the Parliament by law enacts a Delimitation Act after every census. After coming into force commencement of the Act, the Central Government constitutes a Delimitation Commission. This Delimitation Commission demarcates the boundaries of the Parliamentary Constituencies as per provisions of the Delimitation Act. The present delimitation of constituencies is based on 1971 census figures. Notwithstanding the above, the Constitution of India was specifically amended in 1976 not to have delimitation of constituencies till the first census after 2000. Thus, the Constituencies carved out on the basis of 1971 census are continuing.
The census data of 2001 was released on December 31st, 2003. Using these figures , a new Delimitation exercise is under way.

 Q 2. What is the main basis for allocation of seats to various States in the Lok Sabha?
Ans.Population of the State
Population is the basis of allocation of seats of the Lok Sabha. As far as possible, every State gets representation in the Lok Sabha in proportion to its population as per census figures

 Q 3. Is there any reservation of seats for any special category in Lok Sabha ?
In Lok Sabha there is reservation of seats for Scheduled Castes and Scheduled Tribes. Here also census figures are taken into account.

 Q 4. On what basis this reservation is made?
Ans.Allocation of seats for Scheduled Castes and Tribes in the Lok Sabha are made on the basis of proportion of Scheduled Castes and Tribes in the State concerned to that of the total population, vide provision contained in Article 330 of the Constitution of India read with Section 3 of the R. P. Act, 1950.

 Q 5. How many seats are reserved for Scheduled Castes in Lok Sabha?
For Scheduled Castes, 79 seats are reserved in Lok Sabha. The 1st schedule to Representation of People Act, 1950 gives the Statewise break up.

 Q 6. How many seats are reserved for Scheduled Tribes in Lok Sabha?
For Scheduled Tribes, 41 seats are reserved in Lok Sabha. The 1st schedule to R. P. Act, 1950 gives the Statewise break up.

 Q 7. Which are the States having the minimum number of seats in Lok Sabha?
Ans.The following States and Union Territories have one seat each in the Lok Sabha
** Mizoram
** Nagaland
** Sikkim
** Andaman and Nicobar Islands
** Chandigarh
** Dadra and Nagar Haveli
** Daman and Diu
** Lakshadweep
** Pondicherry

 Q 8. How many States are there in India ?
There are 28 states in India viz. Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jharkhand, Goa, Gujarat, Haryana, Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Karnataka, Kerala, Madhya Pradesh, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Manipur, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Nagaland, Orissa, Punjab, Rajasthan, Sikkim, Tamil Nadu, Tripura, Uttar Pradesh, Uttaranchal and West Bengal.

 Q 9. How many Union Territories are in India ?
There are 7 Union Territories in India. Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli, Daman and Diu, Delhi, Lakshadweep and Pondicherry.

 Q 10. For every State, there has to be a Legislative Assembly, but it is not so in the case of all Union Territories. Which are the U.Ts. having a Legislative Assembly?
Out of the 7 Union Territories, Delhi and Pondicherry UTs have Legislative Assemblies.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy