You are here: Home > Bye Election
All posts from Biennial Election to Maharashtra & Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council on 21st May 2018

Organisation : Election Commission of India ECI
Announcement : Biennial Elections to Maharashtra & Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council
Applicable State : Maharashtra, Andhra Pradesh
Election Date : 21st May, 2018
Home Page :

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

ECI Biennial Elections to Maharashtra & AP

The Commission has decided to hold Biennial Election to the Maharashtra Legislative Council from Six Local Authorities Constituencies and a bye election to Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council from Chittoor Local Authorities’ Constituency

Related : CEO Karnataka Legislative Assembly General Election :

Election Schedule

Events Days and Dates
1 Issue of Notifications  : 26th April, 2018 (Thursday)
2 Last date of making nominations  : 3rd May, 2018 (Thursday)
3 Scrutiny of nominations  : 4th May, 2018 (Friday))
4 Last date for withdrawal of candidatures  : 7th May, 2018 (Monday)
5 Date of poll  : 21st May, 2018 (Monday)
6 Hours of poll  : 8.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M
7 Counting of Votes  : 24th May, 2018 (Thursday)
8 Date before which election shall be completed  : 29th May, 2018 (Tuesday)

Maharashtra Legislative Council

The term of office of six (6) members of the Maharashtra Legislative Council from six (6) Local Authorities’ Constituencies is due to expire on 31st May, 2018 and 21st June, 2018 as per details given below

S.No Name of the Member Name of Local Authorities’ Constituency Date of Retirement
1. Anil Dattatrey Tatkare Raigad-cum-Ratnagiri-cum-Sindhudurg 31.05.2018
2. Jadhav Jaywantrao Pundlikrao Nashik  21.06.2018
3. Bhangdiya Mitesh Gotulal Wardha-cum-Chandrapur-cum-Gadchiroli
4. Abdullah Khan A. Latif Khan Durrani Parbhani-cum-Hingoli
5. Pravin Ramchandraji Pote Amravati
6. Deshmukh Dileeprao Dagdojirao Osmanabad-cum-Latur-cum-Beed

Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council

A casual vacancy has occurred in the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council. The details of the vacancy are given below

Sl. No. Name of Member Name of Constituency Date of Retirement Remarks
1 Gali Muddukrishnama Naidu Chittoor Local Authorities’ Constituency 11.08.2021 Death on


The term of office of the members to be elected to the above Legislative Council from the said Local Authorities’ Constituencies shall be subject to the decision of the Hon’ble Supreme Court in SLP(C) No. 17123/2015 (Election Commission of India Vs Devesh Chandra Thakur & Others);

The Model Code of Conduct will come into force with immediate effect.

Notification :


1. What is the Model Code of Conduct?
The Model Code of Conduct for guidance of political parties and candidates is a set of norms which has been evolved with the consensus of political parties who have consented to abide by the principles embodied in the said code and also binds them to respect and observe it in its letter and spirit.

2. From which date the Model Code of Conduct is enforced and operational upto which date?
The Model Code of Conduct is enforced from the date of announcement of election schedule by the Election Commission and is operational till the process of elections are completed.

3. What are the salient features of the Model Code of Conduct?
The salient features of the Model Code of Conduct lay down how political parties, contesting candidates and party(s) in power should conduct themselves during the process of elections i.e. on their general conduct during electioneering, holding meetings and processions, poll day activities and functioning of the party in power etc.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy