You are here: Home > Bye Election
All posts from Lok Sabha Bye Election on 28th May 2018 : Election Commission of India

Organisation : Election Commission of India ECI
Announcement : Lok Sabha Bye Election 2018
Applicable State : Parliamentary Constituencies of Maharashtra, Nagaland, Uttar Pradesh and State Legislative Assemblies of Bihar, Jharkhand, Kerala, Maharashtra, Meghalaya, Punjab, Uttarakhand, Uttar Pradesh, and West Bengal
Election Date : 28th May, 2018
Home Page :

Sponsored Links:
You can now ask your questions about this election. Please go to the bottom of this page.

ECI Lok Sabha Bye Election

The Commission has decided to hold bye-elections to fill casual vacancies as per the programme mentioned as under after taking into consideration various factors like local festivals, electoral rolls, weather conditions etc.

Related : ECI Biennial Election to Maharashtra & Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council on 21st May 2018 :

Election Schedule

Poll Events Schedule
Date of Issue of Gazette Notification 03.05.2018 (THU)
Last Date of Nominations 10.05.2018 (THU)
Date for Scrutiny of Nominations 11.05.2018 (FRI)
Last Date for Withdrawal of candidatures 14.05.2018 (MON)
Date of Poll 28.05.2018 (MON)
Date of Counting 31.05.2018 (THU)
Date before which election shall be completed 02.06.2018 (SAT)

Parliamentary Constituency

There are clear vacancies in the Lok Sabha from Parliamentary Constituencies of various States, which need to be filled up

Sl. No. State Number & Name of Parliamentary Constituency
1 Maharashtra 11 – Bhandara-Gondiya
2 Maharashtra 22 – Palghar (ST)
3 Nagaland Nagaland
4 Uttar Pradesh 2 – Kairana

State Legislative Assembly

There are clear vacancies in the State Legislative Assemblies of various States, which need to be filled up

Sl. No. State Number & Name of Assembly Constituency
1 Bihar 50 – Jokihat
2 Jharkhand 34 – Gomia
3 Jharkhand 61 – Silli
4 Kerala 110 – Chengannur
5 Maharashtra 285 – Palus Kadegaon
6 Meghalaya 53 – Ampati (ST)
7 Punjab 32 – Shahkot
8 Uttarakhand 05 – Tharali (SC)
9 Uttar Pradesh 24 – Noorpur
10 West Bengal 155 – Maheshtala

Electoral Roll

The Electoral Rolls for all the aforesaid Lok Sabha and Assembly Constituencies have been finally published w.r.t 01.01.2018.

Electronic Voting Machines

The Commission has decided to use EVMs and VVPATs in the bye-elections in all the polling stations. Adequate numbers of EVMs and VVPATs have been made available and all steps have been taken to ensure that the polls are conducted smoothly with the help of these machines.

Identification Of Voters

In consonance with the past practice, the Commission has decided that the voter’s identification shall be mandatory in the aforementioned bye- elections at the time of poll. Electoral Photo Identity Cards (EPIC) shall be the main document of identification of a voter.

Notification :

Model Code Of Conduct

The Model Code of Conduct shall come into force with immediate effect in the district(s) in which the whole or any part of the Parliamentary/Assembly Constituency going for bye-election is included, subject to partial modification as issued vide Commission’s instruction No. 437/6/INST2016-CCS, dated 29th June, 2017.

The Model Code of Conduct shall be applicable to all candidates, political parties and the State Government concerned. The Model Code of Conduct shall also be applicable to the Union Government for the State concerned.

Leave a Reply

How to add comment : 1) Type your comment below. 2) Type your name. 3) Post comment. © 2017

Contact Us   Privacy Policy